University of Augsburg

The University of Augsburg was founded in 1970 as an interdisciplinary university. It is one of the new, modern universities in Bavaria with approximately 20,000 students. 219 professors and over 1.000 scientists working in eight faculties:

Faculty of Business Administration and Economics (founded 1970)Faculty of Law (founded 1971)

Faculty of Theology (founded 1971)

Faculty of Philosophy and Social Sciences (founded 1972)

Faculty of Philology and History (founded 1972)

Faculty of Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Materials Engineering (founded 1981)

Faculty of Applied Computer Science (founded 2003)

Faculty of Medicine (founded 2016).

Augsburg University has cooperation agreements with more than eighty universities all over the world. The number of ERASMUS exchange programmes also continues to grow. There are currently exchange programmes with 192 universities throughout Europe. The University of Augsburg provides the ideal conditions for completing a degree programme successfully and within a reasonable time frame. Ever since its foundation, the university has been committed to reform. There are many areas in which the faculties work together closely. Interdisciplinary cooperation is a daily feature of research and teaching at the university, and new forms of teaching to intensify and accelerate learning are developed in each of the faculties. Where appropriate, the degree programmes are designed to be as practice-oriented as possible. The courses on offer come from the three main fields of research and teaching that determine the university’s profile: cultural and social sciences, innovative technologies and teacher training. The curricula are designed to meet the high standards of academic excellence on the one hand combined with the practical needs of society and the economy on the other. The University of Augsburg takes its responsibilities seriously with regard to the ethical issues and social responsibilities that come with education and research. This is reflected in the university’s motto: “Scientia et conscientia”.

The Chair for Political Science, Peace and Conflict Studies was established in 2008 and illustrates the connection between the university and the city of peace, in which the Augsburger Religionsfrieden was closed in 1555. The chair is committed to topics of interdisciplinary peace and conflict research, in particular questions of theory building, the methodology of practice-oriented research as well as in the field of conflict management and its institutions. The main research areas are in the following fields:

  • Conflict, peace and violence research;
  • Sociology of knowledge of international politics;
  • Foreign policy analysis/German foreign policy;

Methodology of conflict research and world politics research.